Workshop 5: Joint Programming by the Member States – How can its effectiveness be improved?

Earth by night

Foto Shutterstock

Central questions workshop 5: Joint Programming by the Member States – How can its effectiveness be improved?

  • What role should the Member States and the European Commission play in an advanced Joint Programming process and Public-to-Public approach?
  • How can the role of the various players (European Commission, Member States, GPC) be redefined in view of the debate about the European added value?
  • What instruments can and should be used to support JPIs and P2P in the long term at national and European level?

This workshop was held in English.   


Moderator and rapporteur:

  • Dr. Christian Naczinsky, Federal Ministry of Science, Research and Economy, Austria


  • Juan Tomas Hernani, Author of the report "Evaluation of Joint Programming to address Grand Societal Challenges"
  • Dr. Jörg Niehoff, DG Research and Innovation, European Commission
  • Amanda Crowfoot, Director Science Europe
  • Petra Manderscheid, Executive Director of the Central Secretariat in Brussels, JPI Climate
  • Dr. Jana Kolar, European Commission‘s Mutual Learning Exercise on Alignment and Interoperability of Research Programmes under the Policy Support Facility

    More information on the panel (in German) can be found here.

Workshop description

JPIs, ERA-NETs and Initiatives under Article 185 are cooperative approaches with the potential to create considerable European added value while using public funds efficiently. They address grand societal challenges, enable European researchers to collaborate transnationally and, last but not least, generate considerable financial leverage. In the past years, investments have risen sharply in all Member States. The European Commission expects 900 million euros worth of national contributions in 2016. German participation in joint programmes such as JPI, ERA-NETs and Initiatives under Article 185 is strong. These programmes also represent a key element of the national strategy on the European Research Area.

So far, these initiatives have run parallel to each other and a strategic concept is lacking. Intra- and interministerial coordination and an actual common national and European alignment are missing. The report of the European Commission expert group chaired by Juan Hernani from Spain likewise has drawn the conclusion that national players hitherto have shown too little responsibility and commitment for the process of Joint Programming. The report does not take into account, however, that the success of JPIs cannot be determined by the number of calls for proposals and the respective national budget. In the future, it will be important to place greater emphasis on the accomplishments, the successful politic-strategic cooperation. The time horizon for these measures and how to achieve "real" sustainability should be discussed jointly.

At the same time, transnational actions and calls for proposals are facing legal and organisational limits at national level. This needs to be considered when planning the next Framework Programme as the cooperative approach and the division of labour between the European Commission and the Member States will be one of the central points of discussion. Every measure, every instrument will be examined even more thoroughly for its European Added Value. The P2Ps will be in the spotlight of the debate. The debate on the next Framework Programme will also be a discussion on which range of instruments is necessary to provide long-term support to JPIs and PSPs. The European instruments need to be supplemented by national support actions. The Member States will have to deliberate how to present the "JPI brand" more proactively and confidently. The workshop offers an opportunity for this, for creative ideas and approaches.

This workshop brings together the German and the European P2P community. On the basis of the expert report and the questions raised, we would like to discuss with you how to further develop the P2P approach.

Workshop 5: Gemeinsame Programme der Mitgliedstaaten – wie geht es effektiver?

Die Welt bei Nacht

Foto Shutterstock

Leitfragen zum Workshop Gemeinsame Programme der Mitgliedstaaten – wie geht es effektiver?

  • Welche Rolle sollten Mitgliedstaaten und die Europäische Kommission in einem weiterentwickelten Joint-Programming-Prozess und Public-to-Public-Ansatz übernehmen?
  • Wie kann die Rolle der verschiedenen Akteure (Europäische Kommission, Mitgliedstaaten, GPC) mit Blick auf die Debatte um den European Added Value gegebenenfalls neu definiert werden?
  • Mit welchen Instrumenten, auf nationaler wie auf europäischer Ebene, können und sollen JPIs und P2P langfristig unterstützt werden?

Der Workshop hat in englischer Sprache stattgefunden.

Panel

Moderation und Rapporteur:

  • Dr. Christian Naczinsky, Ministerium für Wissenschaft, Forschung und Wirtschaft, Österreich

Sprecherinnen und Sprecher:

  • Amanda Crowfoot, Direktorin Science Europe
  • Juan Tomas Hernani, Verfasser des Berichts "Evaluation of Joint Programming to Adress Grand Societal Challenges"
  • Dr. Jana Kolar, Vorsitzende der "Mutual Learning Exercise" der Europäischen Kommission zum Thema "Alignment and Interoperability of Research Programmes"
  • Petra Manderscheid, Leiterin Büro Brüssel der JPI Climate
  • Dr. Jörg Niehoff, Generaldirektion Forschung und Innovation, Europäische Kommission

    Informationen zu den Panellisten (PDF auf englisch)
     

Workshop-Beschreibung

JPIs, ERA-Netze und Maßnahmen nach Artikel 185 sind partnerschaftliche Ansätze mit einem Potenzial großen europäischen Mehrwert zu entwickeln, öffentliche Mittel effizient zu nutzen, sie adressieren große gesellschaftliche Herausforderungen, ermöglichen Forschenden in Europa grenzüberschreitende Zusammenarbeit und erzeugen nicht zuletzt große finanzielle Hebelwirkungen. Die Investitionen aller Mitgliedstaaten sind enorm gestiegen in den letzten Jahren. So rechnet die Europäische Kommission für 2016 mit 900 Millionen Euro nationaler Beiträge.  Die Beteiligung Deutschlands an gemeinsamen Programmen wie JPI, ERA-Netzen und Maßnahmen nach Artikel 185 ist hoch. Auch sind sie wesentliche Bestandteile der nationalen Strategie zum Europäischen Forschungsraum.

Bisher laufen diese Initiativen jedoch parallel nebeneinander her und ein strategisches Konzept fehlt. Eine intra- und interministerielle Koordination und eine echte gemeinsame nationale und europäische Fokussierung ("Alignment") fehlen. So kommt auch der Bericht der Expertengruppe der Europäischen Kommission zu Joint Programming unter dem Vorsitz von Juan Hernani aus Spanien zum Schluss, dass nationale Akteure bislang zu wenig Verantwortung und Verpflichtung für den Prozess der Gemeinsamen Programmplanung zeigen. Dabei lässt der Bericht aber auch außer Acht, dass sich der Erfolg der JPI nicht an der Zahl der Aufrufe und dem damit verbundenen nationales Budget messen lässt. Wichtig wird künftig sein, dass die Erfolge, die gelungene politisch-strategische Kooperation noch stärker hervorgehoben werden muss. Gemeinsam soll auch diskutiert werden, welchen Zeithorizont die Maßnahmen haben und wie "echte" Nachhaltigkeit hergestellt werden kann.

Gleichzeitig sind transnationalen Aktivitäten und Ausschreibungen rechtliche und organisatorische Grenzen auf nationaler Ebene gesetzt. Die Planungen für das kommende Rahmenprogramm müssen das berücksichtigen.  Denn der partnerschaftliche Ansatz und die Arbeitsteilung zwischen Europäischer Kommission und Mitgliedstaaten wird einer der zentralen Diskussionspunkte sein. Jede Maßnahme, jedes Instrument wird dann noch stärker auf seinen europäischen Mehrwert geprüft ("European Added Value"). Die P2P werden hier im Fokus der Debatte stehen. Die Debatte zum nächsten Rahmenprogramm wird auch eine Diskussion sein, welcher "Strauß an Instrumenten" gebunden werden muss, um die JPIs und die P2P langfristig zu unterstützen. Ergänzt werden müssen die EU-Instrumente um nationale Maßnahmen zur Unterstützung. In den Mitgliedstaaten muss überlegt werden, wie die "Marke JPI" viel proaktive und selbstbewusster präsentiert werden kann. Der Workshop bietet dazu Raum, für kreative Ideen und Ansätze.

Der Workshop hat die deutsche und europäische P2P-Community zusammengebracht. Auf Basis des Expertenberichts und den aufgeworfenen Fragen wurden gemeinsam die Möglichkeiten zur Weiterentwicklung des P2P-Ansatzes diskutiert.