Workshop 6: Widening Participation – A Challenge for an Efficient Research Area

Eart by night

Foto Shutterstock

Central questions workshop 6: Widening Participation – A Challenge for an Efficient Research Area

  • What key factors are responsible for the research and innovation gap in Europe and how can this gap be reduced?
  • What contribution does the "Spreading Excellence and Widening Participation" programme section make to reducing the research and innovation gap? How should new measures in the next Framework Programme be designed to increase opportunities for participation by disadvantaged regions?
  • What contribution can the EU Member States make through bilateral or multilateral cooperation in addition to their cooperation under the Framework Programme?

This workshop was held in English.
 

Panel

Moderator:

  • Ralf Krauter, Scientific Journalist

Rapporteur:

  • Babett Gläser, Saxon State Ministry of Science and Arts

Panel:

  • Andrea Conte, European Commission, Joint Research Centre, Institute for Prospective Technological Studies, Seville
  • Luisa Henriques, Counsellor for Research, Permanent Representation of the Republic of Portugal to the EU
  • Stefan Kaufmann, Member of the German Bundestag
  • Sergej Možina, Counsellor for Research, Permanent Representation of the Republic of Slovenia to the EU
  • Mathias Rauch, Head of the Fraunhofer EU Office Brussels

Further information on the panellists (PDF)
 

Workshop description

The European Research Area (ERA) is aimed at improving the framework conditions in the areas of research and innovation and at strengthening the competitiveness of Europe based on an economy powered by knowledge-based innovation. The ERA as an open space for research and innovation is intended to enable the free circulation of scientific findings and technologies and a high academic mobility for scientists. Europe can only achieve the greatest possible synergies if national research and innovation systems are competitive and mutually compatible. As a result, the connectivity of less research and innovation intensive EU member states is crucial for the success of the ERA and the socio-economic and political viability of Europe as a whole. The participation in EU research framework programmes is an indicator for the performance of EU member states. Currently there are major differences between the member states both with regard to their involvement and their success in attracting funding. In Horizon 2020, the proportion of grants to the group of Member States having joined the EU in 2004, 2007 and 2013 respectively (so-called EU-13) remains on the low level of the 7th EU research framework programme. The programme area "Spreading excellence and widening participation" introduced for Horizon 2020 makes a contribution to strengthening participation of previously under-represented regions / member states. However, this alone is not sufficient and should be supplemented by further measures such as the involvement of EU structural and investment funds for innovation-focused activities. Overall, further efforts and concrete measures are required both from the European Commission and the member states in order to be able to significantly increase the competitiveness and excellence of national research systems.

The workshop "Widening Participation – A Challenge for an Efficient Research Area" provided an opportunity to discuss potential approaches to spreading excellence in the less research and innovation-intensive regions or member states and increase their opportunities to become involved in the EU framework programme for research and innovation. It is a cross-European goal to reduce this research and innovation divide and a long-term task to further promote cooperation in Europe. This requires individual member states to consider what they can contribute at a national level.

Workshop 6: "Widening participation" – Herausforderung für einen leistungsfähigen Forschungsraum

Die Welt bei Nacht.

Foto Shutterstock

Leitfragen zum Workshop "Widening Participation" – Herausforderung für einen leistungsfähigen Forschungsraum

  • Welche zentralen Faktoren bedingen die Forschungs- und Innovationskluft in Europa und wie lässt sie sich verringern?
  • Welchen Beitrag leistet die Programmlinie "Verbreitung von Exzellenz und Ausweitung der Beteiligung" zur Verringerung der Forschungs- und Innovationskluft und wie sollten neue Maßnahmen im nächsten Rahmenprogramm konzipiert sein, um die Beteiligungschancen der bisher benachteiligten Regionen zu erhöhen?
  • Welchen Beitrag können die EU-Mitgliedstaaten neben dem Rahmenprogramm durch bi- oder multilaterale Kooperationsansätze leisten?

Der Workshop hat in englischer Sprache stattgefunden.
 

Panel

Moderation:

  • Ralf Krauter, Wissenschaftsjournalist

Rapporteurin:

  • Babett Gläser, Sächsisches Staatsministerium für Wissenschaft und Kunst

Sprecherinnen und Sprecher:

  • Andrea Conte, Europäische Kommission, Joint Research Centre, Institut für technologische Zukunftsforschung, Sevilla
  • Luisa Henriques, Forschungattachée, Ständige Vertretung der Republik Portugal bei der EU in Brüssel
  • Stefan Kaufmann, Mitglied des Deutschen Bundestages
  • Sergej Možina, Forschungattaché, Ständige Vertretung der Republik Slowenien bei der EU in Brüssel
  • Mathias Rauch, Leiter Fraunhofer-EU-Büro Brüssel

Informationen zu den Panellisten (PDF, nur in der Workshopsprache Englisch verfügbar)
 

Workshop-Beschreibung

Der Europäische Forschungsraum (EFR) zielt darauf ab, die Rahmenbedingungen in den Bereichen Forschung und Innovation zu verbessern und die Wettbewerbsfähigkeit Europas auf Basis einer innovationsgetriebenen Wirtschaft zu stärken. Der EFR soll als ein Binnenraum für Forschung und Innovation den freien Austausch wissenschaftlicher Erkenntnisse und Technologien und eine hohe akademische Mobilität von Wissenschaftlern ermöglichen. Größtmögliche Synergien in Europa werden allerdings nur erreicht, wenn die nationalen Forschungs- und Innovationssysteme wettbewerbsfähig und untereinander kompatibel sind. Die Anschlussfähigkeit leistungsschwächerer EU-Mitgliedstaaten ist daher entscheidend für den wirtschaftlichen Erfolg Europas und für den EFR insgesamt. Als ein Indikator für die Leistungsfähigkeit der EU-Mitgliedstaaten gilt deren Einbindung in die EU-Forschungsrahmenprogramme. Derzeit bestehen große Unterschiede zwischen den Mitgliedstaaten, sowohl hinsichtlich der Beteiligung als auch der erfolgreichen Einwerbung von Fördermitteln. Der Anteil der Zuwendungen an die EU-13-Staaten bleibt in Horizont 2020 auf dem niedrigen Niveau des 7. EU-Forschungsrahmenprogramms. Der für Horizont 2020 eingeführte Programmbereich "Verbreitung von Exzellenz und Ausweitung der Beteiligung" leistet zwar einen Beitrag zur Stärkung der Beteiligung bisher unterrepräsentierter Regionen/Mitgliedsstaaten. Allerdings reicht dieser allein nicht aus und sollte durch weitere Maßnahmen ergänzt werden, wie beispielsweise die Einbeziehung von EU-Struktur- und Investitionsfonds für innovationsorientierte Aktivitäten. Insgesamt bedarf es weiterer Anstrengungen und konkreter Maßnahmen sowohl der Europäischen Kommission als auch der Mitgliedstaaten, um die Wettbewerbsfähigkeit und Exzellenz nationaler Forschungsstandorte entscheidend zu erhöhen.

Im Workshop "Widening Participation – Herausforderung für den Europäischen Forschungsraum" wurde über mögliche Ansätze zur Verbreitung der Exzellenz in den weniger forschungs- und innovationsintensiven Regionen/Mitgliedsstaaten und zur Erhöhung ihrer Beteiligungschancen am EU-Rahmenprogramm für Forschung und Innovation diskutiert. Die Verringerung dieser Forschungs- und Innovationskluft ist ein gesamteuropäisches Ziel und eine langfristige Aufgabe, um die Zusammenarbeit in Europa weiter zu fördern. Daher ging es auch darum, was einzelne Mitgliedstaaten hierzu auf nationaler Ebene beitragen können.