Workshop 4: The ERA and the European Higher Education Area

Earth by night

Foto Shutterstock

Central questions in workshop 4: The ERA and the European Higher Education Area

  • How can links be strengthened between the European Research Area and the European Higher Education Area?
  • How can European and national programmes be combined in the areas of research and education?
  • What are the topics or projects that could contribute to bringing research and higher education closer at EU level?

This workshop was held in English.

Panel

Moderator:

  • Eva-Maria Streier, Science Consulting and Science Communication

Panel

  • Lidia Borrell-Damian, Director for Research and Innovation, European University Association
  • Gerhard Duda, Head of Department Research Affairs, German Rectors' Conference (HRK)
  • Patricia Pol, Vice-Chair of the Bologna Follow-Up Group (BFUG) for the European Higher Education Area
  • Paul Harris, Directorate-General for Education and Culture, European Commission

Information on the panellists

Workshop description

The goal of realising the European Research Area (ERA) has been anchored in primary law since the coming into force of the Lisbon Treaty in December 2009 and constitutes a binding task for all concerned, i.e. the European Commission and the EU Member States. Both parties have identified six fields of action for creating a strong European Research Area (the so-called ERA priorities). Concrete measures for shaping the ERA are being implemented both on European as on national level.

In 1999, 30 European countries signed the Bologna Declaration in the Italian university town. They thus laid the foundation for a European Higher Education Area which by now covers 48 countries – ranging from Iceland to Kazakhstan – and the European Commission. The Council of Europe and seven other organisations act as advisory members. Throughout Europe, the Bologna Process has led to substantial changes in the national higher education systems. The Process follows a cooperative approach, i.e. the universities, students and social partners are involved in realising the objectives agreed upon by the ministers of higher education. It has been agreed to assess the progress made in implementing the European Higher Education Area in a joint conference every two or three years. The most recent conference took place in May 2015 in Yerevan. The final communiqué set down the stronger linkage between the European Research Area and the European Higher Education Area.

Universities are a key element of the science system. They combine education and research and train the scientists of tomorrow, irrelevant of where these scientists will be working later on – at universities, in extramural research institutions or in companies conducting research. For this reason, we need to create optimal framework conditions and to advance the rapprochement between the European Higher Education Area and the European Research Area, e.g., as regards the support for young academics, mobility, or career planning and social security.

Workshop 4: Der EFR und der Europäische Hochschulraum

Die Welt bei Nacht

Foto Shutterstock

Leitfragen zum Workshop der EFR und der Europäische Hochschulraum

  • Wie können Verbindungen zwischen dem Europäischen Forschungs- und dem Europäischen Hochschulraum gestärkt werden?
  • Wie können europäische und nationale Programme in den Bereichen Forschung und Bildung kombiniert werden?
  • Welche Themen und Projekte könnten zu einer Annäherung von Forschung und Hochschulbildung auf EU-Ebene beitragen?

Dieser Workshop hat in englischer Sprache stattgefunden.

Panel

Moderation:

  • Eva-Maria Streier, Beraterin Wissenschaftskommunikation

Sprecherinnen und Sprecher:

  • Lidia Borrell-Damian, Direktorin der Abteilung Research and Innovation, European University Association
  • Gerhard Duda, Leitung Abteilung Forschungsangelegenheiten, Hochschulrektorenkonferenz (HRK)
  • Patricia Pol, Vize-Vorsitzende Bologna Follow-Up-Gruppe (BFUG) für den Europäischen Hochschulraum
  • Paul Harris, Generaldirektion für Bildung und Kultur, Europäische Kommission

Informationen zu den Panellisten (PDF auf englisch)

Workshop-Beschreibung

Die Verwirklichung des Europäischen Forschungsraums (EFR) ist seit Inkrafttreten des Vertrags von Lissabon im Dezember 2009 eine primärrechtlich verankerte Zielsetzung der EU und verbindliche Aufgabe für alle Beteiligten, sowohl Europäische Kommission als auch EU-Mitgliedstaaten. Beide Akteure haben dabei sechs Handlungsfelder für die Schaffung eines starken Europäischen Forschungsraums (sogenannte EFR-Prioritäten) identifiziert. Sowohl auf europäischer als auch nationaler Ebene werden konkrete Maßnahmen für die Ausgestaltung des EFR umgesetzt.

1999 unterzeichneten 30 europäische Staaten in der italienischen Universitätsstadt die Bologna-Erklärung. Sie legten damit den Grundstein für einen Europäischen Hochschulraum, der inzwischen 48 Staaten – von Island bis Kasachstan – und die Europäische Kommission umfasst. Der Europarat und sieben weitere Organisationen sind beratende Mitglieder. Der Bologna-Prozess hat in ganz Europa zu weitreichenden Veränderungen der nationalen Hochschulsysteme geführt. Der Prozess zeichnet sich durch einen partnerschaftlichen Ansatz aus, d. h. dass die vereinbarten Ziele der Hochschulministerinnen und -minister unter Einbindung der Hochschulen, Studierenden und Sozialpartnern umgesetzt werden. Zur Überprüfung der Fortschritte bei der Erreichung der vereinbarten Ziele wurde festgelegt, alle zwei bzw. drei Jahre den Stand der Umsetzung des Europäischen Hochschulraums auf einer gemeinsamen Konferenz zu bilanzieren. Die letzte Konferenz fand im Mai 2015 in Jerewan statt. Im Abschlusskommuniqué wurde die stärkere Verbindung des Europäischen Forschungsraums und des Europäischen Hochschulraums formuliert.

Hochschulen sind eines der zentralen Elemente des Wissenschaftssystems. Sie verbinden Lehre und Forschung und bilden die Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler der Zukunft aus, unabhängig davon, wo diese später tätig sind – an Hochschulen, in außeruniversitären Forschungseinrichtungen oder in der forschenden Wirtschaft. Aus diesem Grund müssen optimale Rahmenbedingungen geschaffen und die Annäherung zwischen Europäischem Hochschulraum und dem Europäischem Forschungsraum vorangetrieben werden, z. B. hinsichtlich der Nachwuchsförderung und Mobilität oder der Karriereplanung und sozialen Sicherung.